Hauptinhalt zeigen

Feierliche Eröffnung 2024

Opening Speech / following „The Pulse“ by Gravity & Other Myths

Esther Kinsky
Opening Speech

The writer and translator Esther Kinsky, born in Engelskirchen in 1956 and raised in the Rhineland, has been awarded numerous awards for her extensive literary work, which includes poetry, essays, and narrative prose. She is also an accomplished translator for Polish, Russian, and English. In 2022, she received the prestigious Kleist Prize. Kinsky’s works impress with their stylistic brilliance, thematic diversity, and stubborn originality. She is a truly European writer: her books are set in the Hungarian province ("Banatsko", 2011), on the outskirts of East London ("Am Fluss", 2014), on a small archipelago off the west coast of Scotland ("Schiefern", 2020), or in Friuli, Italy ("Hain: Geländeroman", 2018, awarded with the Leipzig Book Fair Prize in 2020; "Rombo", 2022).

In her texts, Kinsky travels to unknown, unnoticed peripheries. She has dedicated herself to the existential, human experience of exploring and overcoming the foreign. Seeing, recognizing, and naming a strange world in natural-historical, geological, geographical, cultural, and historical-political contexts is the central theme of her oeuvre. Kinsky's novels and poems place people in a relationship with "disturbed terrain" ("Störungen", 2023), an area that gradually reverts to nature after a phase of intensive use and exploitation by humans. She eloquently examines metaphorical fields of disturbance as well: historical burdens, frictions of nature and culture, the tension between extractivism and reconquest. Her writing is a school of perception in its own right. Her latest book "Weiter Sehen", a love letter to the cinema as a space that expands our point of view, asks how it is possible to "see further" and reach an understanding when the place of shared experience, the cinema, has been dismantled in favor of a privatized life and experience. This year, Esther Kinsky will give the opening speech of the Ruhrfestspiele.

Tip: The speech will be recorded. We will publish the video recording shortly after the here.

Esther Kinsky c Heike Steinweg Suhrkamp Verlag
Photo: Heike Steinweg Suhrkamp Verlag | Foto: Foto: Heike Steinweg Suhrkamp Verlag

The Pulse
Gravity & Other Myths

German Premiere

Director: Darcy Grant
Composer: Ekrem Eli Phoenix

in co-operation with the women's concert choir of CHORAKADEMIE at Konzerthaus Dortmund e. V.

The australian company that has conquered the world, brings together all three of its core ensembles plus a choir of 24 voices. The Pulse is the work of scale that we’ve been longing for. The Helpmann award-winning creative team responsible for Out of Chaos – director Darcy Grant, designer Geoff Cobham and composer Ekrem Eli Phoenix – reunite to extend and amplify the signature spirit of this unique company: visceral, poetic, heart-stopping feats… Dispatched by your best mates.

Epic passages of seemingly impossible levels of cooperation and humanity, repeat, stretch, blossom and decay alluding to forces much greater than ourselves.

Watch as a mountain of bodies crumbles into an ocean of voice. Towering human structures move with precision through a pulsing web. Cobham’s sentient lighting design, combined with Grant's inspired crowd management and Phoenix's driving score, create an intricate, organic synchronicity of human movement and sound – all to the beat of your own pounding pulse!

It’s the heart-starter we all need.

The Pulse 2020 by Darcy Grant 2 of 26 A Auswahl Website

Lighting & Set Designer: Geoff Cobham
Ensemble: Alyssa Moore, Andre Augustus, Annalise Moore, Axel Osborne, Emily Gare, Isabel Estrella, Jacob Randell, Joanne Curry, Jordan Hart, Joshua Strachan, Lachlan Binns, Lachlan Harper, Lewis Rankin, Louis Gift, Lyndon Johnson, Martin Schreiber, Megan Giesbrecht, Shani Stephens, N.N.

Choir conductor & soloist: Christie Anderson
Choir: Chorakademie Dortmund, Frederike Alborn, Gina Alter, Wiebke Baumeister, Sandra Berchem, Juliana Da Silva, Fatine El Hilali, Franziska Gerwin, Mieke Haumann, Caroline Heinrich, Lea Hilf, Leandra Lawatsch, Luana Lawatsch, Anna Maier, Chiara Müllmann, Annika Naßwetter, Karla Pfeiffer, Alexandra Rohn, Sina Scheffler, Carolin Schumann, Clara Sonne, Emily Trojca, Julia Vasic, Marie Wenzel, Katharina Weschke, Annika Winterberg

Creative Ensemble: Alyssa Moore, Amanda Lee, Andre Augustus, Annalise Moore, Axel Osborne, Benton Adams-Walker, Chris Carlos, Dylan Phillips, Emily Gare, Ellen Grow, Jackson Manson, Jacob Randell, Jascha Boyce, Joanne Curry, Jordan Hart, Joren Dawson, Joshua Strachan, Kevin Beverley, Lachlan Binns, Lachlan Harper, Lewis Rankin, Lewis West, Lisa Goldsworthy, Lyndon Johnson, Margot Mansfield, Martin Schreiber, Maya Tregonning, Megan Giesbrecht, Rachel Boyd, Shani Stephens, Simon McClure, Tom Adams-Walker
Choir: Aurora (Young Adelaide Voices)

Company Producers: Jascha Boyce, Jacob Randell, Darcy Grant
Executive Producer: Torben Brookman
Sound System Design: Mik Lavage
Production Manager: Belinda Respondeck
Technical Director: Marko Respondeck

Age: 6+
Language notice: no language skills required

Photos: Darcy Grant

Copy of Major Festivals Initiative logo stacked
Aca logo horizontal black medi 543220972c7a1
Afc logo black shells no outline black text 1
GWB Black
Logo High Res

This project has been assisted by the Australian Government's Major Festivals Initiative, managed by the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body, in association with the Confederation of Australian International Arts Festivals Inc., commissioned by, Adelaide Festival, Sydney Festival, Darwin Festival and GWB Entertainment Pty Ltd.

Duration: 2h 10m
no intermission