Ruhrfestspiele from May 1st to June 13 th will not take place - autumn festival in planning

The Ruhrfestspiele 2020 cannot take place as planned due to the current developments in connection with the coronavirus. The cancellation is based on the recommendation of the district and the city of Recklinghausen in coordination with the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia due to the currently valid orders to contain the spread of the coronavirus, to protect the health system from massive strains and to protect particularly endangered people from infection.

"Extraordinary situations call for extraordinary measures. In the long history of the Ruhrfestspiele there has never been a cancellation before. It is not only very bitter for the loyal visitors. A cancellation of the Ruhrfestspiele after a planning phase of one and a half years is also a deep disappointment for all employees, the artists, the shareholders and last but not least for the city of Recklinghausen. The entire Ruhrfestspiele team is therefore joining forces to find an attractive alternative. A possible postponement of a sub-programme of the Ruhrfestspiele into the autumn is currently being examined at full speed in all directions". Olaf Kröck, Director of the Ruhrfestspiele

Containment of the virus is the top priority. In addition, in the current situation, the further preparations for this year's festival programme lack the necessary planning security. The currently enacted regulations on international travel, border closures, restrictions on public assembly opportunities, theatre closures and the need to stop rehearsals make it impossible to prepare and implement the approximately 90 productions from 20 countries responsibly and reliably.

We very much regret this development and would like to thank the artists, the participating theatres and groups, the shareholders as well as all other sponsors, partners, supporters and all other parties involved for the cooperation so far. And we thank you, our audience, for your loyalty and your enormous interest in the invited productions.

Autumn festival in planning

We are currently intensively examining various possibilities for showing parts of this year's programme in autumn 2020. We will keep you informed in the coming weeks about the status of development and a possible schedule for the autumn.

Tickets

Here you find all information regarding the return or exchange of already purchased tickets. Of course, cardholders can return their tickets free of charge and will be reimbursed the total amount (excluding postage). We are planning an online form to facilitate the process.

Donation of the tickets
Cardholders who wish to waive a refund or partial refund of the ticket price in favour of the Ruhrfestspiele will help us to reduce the financial losses caused by the Corona-related cancellation of the festival through this generous act of solidarity. We will be happy to issue a donation receipt for all non-refunded amounts for the respective ticket value. In this case we would like to thank you very much for your support in compensating for the hard consequences of the cancellation.

Please note that the Ruhrfestspiele ticket office is not open to the public until further notice in order to protect our employees and is currently only available by e-mail and fax. We kindly ask for a little patience for the reversal. The colleagues at the ticket office can be contacted before the start of the NRW summer holidays until June 13th.

Stay healthy!

Best regards

Your
Team of the Ruhrfestspiele

Ruhrfestspiele vom 1. Mai bis 13. Juni finden nicht statt – Herbstfestival in Planung

Die Ruhrfestspiele 2020 können aufgrund der aktuellen Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit dem Coronavirus leider nicht wie geplant stattfinden. Die Absage erfolgt in Abstimmung mit dem Kreis und der Stadt Recklinghausen und mit dem Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW nach den aktuellen Anordnungen zur Eindämmung der Ausbreitung des Coronavirus, zur Bewahrung des Gesundheitssystems vor massiven Belastungen und zum Schutz besonders gefährdeter Menschen vor Ansteckung. Die komplette Presseinformation dazu finden Sie hier.

„Außergewöhnliche Situationen verlangen nach außergewöhnlichen Maßnahmen. Eine Absage hat es in der langen Geschichte der Ruhrfestspiele bisher nicht gegeben. Sie ist nicht nur für die treuen Besucher*innen sehr bitter. Eine Absage der Ruhrfestspiele nach einer Planungsphase von anderthalb Jahren ist auch für alle Mitarbeiter*innen, die Künstler*innen, die Gesellschafter und nicht zuletzt für die Stadt Recklinghausen eine tiefe Enttäuschung. Deshalb bemüht sich das gesamte Team der Ruhrfestspiele mit vereinten Kräften um eine attraktive Alternative. Eine mögliche Verschiebung eines Teilprogramms der Ruhrfestspiele in den Herbst wird gerade auf Hochtouren in alle Richtungen geprüft.“ Olaf Kröck, Intendant der Ruhrfestspiele

Die Eindämmung des Virus hat oberste Priorität. Zudem gibt es für die weiteren Vorbereitungen des diesjährigen Festivalprogramms in der jetzigen Situation nicht die erforderliche Planungssicherheit. Die derzeit erlassenen Bestimmungen zum internationalen Reiseverkehr, zu Grenzschließungen, zur Einschränkung der öffentlichen Versammlungsmöglichkeiten, zu Theaterschließungen und der Notwendigkeit der Beendigung des Probenbetriebes machen es unmöglich, die rund 90 Produktionen aus 20 Ländern verantwortungsvoll und verlässlich vorzubereiten und umzusetzen.

Wir bedauern diese Entwicklung sehr und danken den Künstler*innen, den beteiligten Theatern und Gruppen, den Gesellschaftern sowie allen weiteren Förderern, Partnern, Unterstützern und allen weiteren Beteiligten für die bisherige Zusammenarbeit. Und wir danken Ihnen, unserem Publikum, für Ihre Treue und Ihr riesiges Interesse an den eingeladenen Produktionen.

Herbstfestival in Planung

Momentan prüfen wir intensiv verschiedene Möglichkeiten, Teile des diesjährigen Programms in den Herbst 2020 zu verschieben. Über den Stand der Entwicklung und einen möglichen Spielplan für den Herbst halten wir Sie in den kommenden Wochen auf dem Laufenden.

Eintrittskarten

Alle Informationen zur Rückgabe bzw. zum Umtausch bereits erworbener Eintrittskarten finden Sie hier. Natürlich können Karteninhaber*innen ihre Karten kostenlos zurückgeben und erhalten den Gesamtbetrag erstattet (exklusive Portokosten). Wir planen ein Online-Formular, das die Abwicklung erleichtert.

Eintrittskarten spenden
Karteninhaber*innen, die auf eine Rückerstattung oder teilweise Rückerstattung des Kartenpreises zugunsten der Ruhrfestspiele verzichten möchten, helfen uns durch diesen großzügigen Akt der Solidarität, die finanziellen Einbußen durch die Corona-bedingte Absage der Festspiele zu reduzieren. Gerne stellen wir für alle nicht zurückerstatteten Beträge eine Spendenbescheinigung über den jeweiligen Kartenwert aus. In diesem Fall bedanken wir uns sehr herzlich für Ihre Unterstützung bei der Kompensation der harten Folgen der Absage.

Wir bitten zu beachten, dass die Kartenstelle der Ruhrfestspiele zum Schutz unserer Mitarbeiterinnen bis auf weiteres nicht für den Publikumsverkehr geöffnet hat und aktuell nur per E-Mail und Fax erreichbar ist. Für die Rückabwicklung bitten wir um etwas Geduld. Die Kolleginnen der Kartenstelle sind vor Beginn der NRW-Sommerferien bis zum 13. Juni für Sie erreichbar.

Bleiben Sie gesund!

Herzliche Grüße

Ihr
Team der Ruhrfestspiele