Hauptinhalt zeigen
Sacre Circa 01 Foto David Kelly Sacre Circa 01 Foto David Kelly
Sacre Circa 01 Foto David Kelly


Music by Igor Strawinsky & Philippe Bachman

Created by Yaron Lifschitz and the Circa Ensemble

Circa Contemporary Circus, Australia

World Premiere

Since 2004, Circa has been at the frontier of new circus and one of the world's leading performance companies in this field – creating powerful works of circus art that challenge, thrill, and delight.

Circa’s main concern is art: The present shows that push the boundary of circus as an art form, blur the lines between movement, dance, theatre and circus. The result is a unique, singular Circa-experience which moves the heart, mind, and soul.

This year, the Australian company make their Ruhrfestspiele debut with a world premiere. In the first circus setting of Stravinsky's “Rite of Spring,” Circa tightly weaves together powerful world-class acrobatics and dynamic encounters suffused with dark humour and rich tenderness. Featuring new composition by Philippe Bachman alongside Stravinsky's “Rite of Spring,” this show features an explosive display of bodies locked in a ritual unto death.

Leider können wir Ihnen dieses Video an dieser Stelle nicht anzeigen. Klicken Sie auf den folgenden Link, um auf Vimeo zu gelangen und das Video dort anzusehen:

Video auf Vimeo ansehen
Sacre Circa 02 Foto David Kelly
Foto: David Kelly

"Under the direction of circus visionary Yaron Lifschitz the Circa ensemble puts bodies on the line for “Sacre” in electrifying explosions of physicality and power." Les Echos

A Scène Nationale de Châlons-en-Champagne and Merrigong Theatre Company commission. Circa acknowledges the assistance of the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body and the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland.

Two other productions dealing with „Le Sacre du Printemps“ at Ruhrfestspiele 2020: „The Sacrifice (Das Opfer)“ and „Robozee vs. Sacre".

For the whole family

Button Familie
Duration: 1h 5m
no interval